Screen Shot 2017-12-15 at 3.11.02 PM.pngMany teen drivers get into minor car accidents in the first few months of having a driver’s license. Whether it is hitting a neighbor’s mailbox or a fender-bender in a parking lot, it usually does not take much to convince new drivers to be more careful. In fact, the early mishaps usually result in no lasting damage except, perhaps, higher car insurance premiums for a while. When it comes to accidents involving trucks, however, there is almost no such thing as a “no big deal” truck accident.  They often result in serious personal injuries and expensive damage to property.

Thus, driving a truck is serious business from the beginning. No one lets a 16-year-old get behind the wheel of an 18-wheeler and take a ride around town just to get a taste of adult freedom. Commercial trucks weigh multiple tons even when they are empty. Their extraordinary length, width, height, and weight mean that driving one requires vigilance at all times. Thus, the training required before you can even get a license to drive a truck is quite rigorous. There are rules guiding every aspect of the profession of truck driving. If you are injured in an accident involving a truck, ask yourself if the driver was in compliance with these important safety rules.

California’s Rest Period Rules May Become Less Strict

It is dangerous enough to drive a car when you are too tired to concentrate; imagine how dangerous it is to drive a truck in such a state. Federal law dictates that truck drivers cannot drive more than 14 hours in a workday, and they cannot drive more than 11 straight hours without taking a break. They must take a 30-minute break for a meal before they have completed eight hours of work that day. They must rest for at least 10 hours after finishing one workday and before starting the next one. Furthermore, California law requires drivers to take a 30-minute break sometime during the first five hours of their shift, and beyond that, a break of at least 10 minutes at least once every four hours.

In the summer of 2017, the California legislature began considering a bill which would nullify the stricter California rules about rest periods and just require truck drivers to abide by the federal regulations. Supporters of the bill say that it will help drivers reach their destinations more quickly, thus being more productive. The bill’s opponents say that it will make California’s roads less safe.  The strict regulations about truckers stopping to rest have been a source of debate for years, with many bills regarding just how often truck drivers should be required to rest having been introduced in the legislature in the past decade. The fact remains that rest is essential for safe driving.

Contact Case Barnett if You Were Injured in an Accident

If you suffered injuries because of an accident involving a truck, it is worthwhile to investigate whether the truck driver was in compliance with all the regulations. Rest periods are just one of the many rules truck drivers must follow. Contact Case Barnett in Costa Mesa, California for a consultation about a personal injury case.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s